The Balance of LD and Giftedness


Out of my head and into the blog. I have a few posts I want to write this free morning, but I know I may only have time for one more.

When I was first shown my IQ test breakdown from the Woodcock-Johnson I cried. It was validation to why I had struggled so much through school and through so much of my life. I was 25 years old and a semester away from either graduating or dropping out of college. Unfortunately, I took away more information about my weaknesses than my strengths. I discounted my strengths and took to heart my poor ability to memorize digit span or sentences, and my visual matching test was abysmal. I scored in the lower 25% on that visual matching test.  To me, it didn’t matter that I had scored in 99.9th percentile on Visual-Auditory Learning and  Analysis-Synthesis.  I had actually scored above the 90th percentile in 10 of 25 tests and below the 50th percentile in just 6.

My focus on why I was struggling I assumed had to fall within my areas of weakness. I felt that I was performing below average, so if I had some strengths, my weaknesses were REALLY dragging me down, so every time it was pointed out that I had scored high on something, I felt that there must be a corresponding weak area that must be so awful, that my performance suffered.

The term “gifted” may have been thrown in back then even, but I still had issues to grapple with in my mind. To me, gifted meant that you are really smart and not wrong.  I was wrong a lot of the time, therefore I must just be LD. If I had to confess to my learning disability ever, I use the strengths to counter balance as best I could, the negative connotations I was sure the other party would have of me being learning disabled. This ties into the idea of gifted individuals feeling like they are impostors more often (Imposter Syndrome).  I mentioned the Imposter Syndrome in Shame, and there are other places to read more about it:

Douglas Eby – http://blogs.psychcentral.com/creative-mind/2010/06/feeling-like-a-fraud/

Eric Maisel – http://talentdevelop.com/articles/SilencSelfCritic.html

http://www.impostorsyndrome.com/handbook.htm

Christine Fonseca – http://christinefonseca.wordpress.com/2010/09/04/the-imposter-in-us-part-1-the-why/

This actually leads right into another blog I want to write about Christine’s book review.  I am a slow reader.  I can read faster when I don’t care about the topic, but it’s still not fast reading.  Emotional Intensity has not been a quick read for me, and that’s a good thing. I’ll get through it as quickly as I comfortably can, but I had hoped to have a review ready to go really soon.

About Tom
I started advocating for G/LD students when I was finishing my undergraduate degree, but got caught up in life and forgot to continue to follow my heart. That’s changed and I’m again advocating for these students who fall through the cracks. Their gifts mask their LD. Their LD masks their gifts. I understand their situation because I’m one of those students who struggled through the school system as both gifted and learning disabled and never diagnosed. The challenges faced by a student who is gifted, but not served, is immense. The student who is LD, but not served, is unbelievably difficult. The combination is nothing short of cruel. It may be unintentional, but the need to understand this under-served population is necessary. These are some of the most brightest and creative minds who we ignore through school.

4 Responses to The Balance of LD and Giftedness

  1. Christine Fonseca says:

    Thanks for the shout out! I hope this means the book is meeting your expectations for the most part! Looking forward to hearing your thoughts.

    • Tom says:

      The book is great! I just wish I had more time to read. I should make pretty good progress this weekend, but “free time” is scarce for me. 🙂

  2. jacqueline says:

    Your expression of self-analysis coupled with creative and insightful solutions is bound to be helpful to others. Many like you (young, old and in between) who have been (or are currently being) misunderstood and devalued while treading on rocky and painful paths have been waiting for you. Journey on wounded warrior!

  3. Laura says:

    I can’t wait to read the book!

Leave a comment